June 11 Gospel Reading

Matthew 10:32-36; 11:1

[32] Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I
confess also before my Father which is in heaven.[33] But
whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my
Father which is in heaven.[34] Think not that I am come to
send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.[35]
For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the
daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother
in law.[36] And a man's foes shall be they of his own
household.[1] And it came to pass, when Jesus had made an end of commanding
his twelve disciples, he departed thence to teach and to preach in
their cities.

In Ezekiel this passage reminds me that we often think peace is coming and is something we deserve.

"Because, even because they have seduced my people, saying, Peace; and
there was no peace…"
(Ezek.13:10)

*This article on the Orthodox Info website discusses the contrast between the Peace of Christ and the Peace of Assisi.

John 14:27 is Jesus' closing words to his apostles, where he reminds them that the peace of Christ doesn't look the same as the peace the world gives. "Peace
I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth,
give I unto you."


Inp36 Abba Anthony the Great of Egypt
said in the Apothegmata patrum:

"Always have the fear of God before your eyes. Remember Him who grants death and life. Hate the world and all that is in it. Hate all peace that comes from the flesh. Renounce this life, that you may be alive to God. Remember that which you have promised God, for it will be required of you on the day of judgment. Suffer hunger, thirst, nakedness; be watchful and sorrowful; weep, and moan in your heart; test yourselves, to see if you are worthy of God; despise the flesh, so that you may preserve your souls.

Leave a Reply

