St.John of Dalyatha…How I Am…

"You ask me how I am. I don’t know what to answer considering the ups and
downs that I experience. Sometimes I am full of Life and sometimes
death seems to rage against me in all my members. Sometimes I kill life
and sometimes it is the dead who bring me down. Sometimes I am cut off
from everything through union with the Lord and sometimes I am a mixture
of everything. It is a wonder for me that the Spirit of Life so lends
Himself to alienation that the dead can so exercise power. But He allows
this to happen in order to warn us, so that we should not breath in the
odour of the dead with any longing."

(Letter 37, 1)

Leave a Reply

