Prayer for the Granting of Prayer, St. John of Kronstadt…

O All-merciful Lord!

Grant me the divine gift of holy prayer, flowing from the depth of my heart.

Gather together the dispersed thoughts of my mind, that it may always strive towards its Creator and Saviour.

Destroy the burning arrows of the evil one, which tear me away from Thee.

Quench the flame of the passionate thoughts that devour me during prayer.

Cover me with the grace of Thy Most-holy Spirit, that to the very end of my sinful life I may love Thee alone with all my heart, all my soul and mind, and all my strength, and in the hour when my soul takes leave of my mortal body, O Sweetest Jesus, take into Thy hands my spirit when Thou comest into Thy Kingdom.

Amen.

Prayer found here, and there is also a link to a pdf file that can be printed out and put into the prayer book…

2 thoughts on “Prayer for the Granting of Prayer, St. John of Kronstadt…

  1. Margaret says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this. It is absolutely wonderful. My confessor tells me to pray for the gift of prayer and this will be an excellent prayer to use.

    • Margaret, I’m so glad you will find it useful!!! I love your blog with your talk of kitties. I’d like to include mine more in my blog, they feel a bit discarded and left out. Thank you for adding me to your blogroll. You’re the first to comment (other than my boyfriend!) 😛

Leave a Reply

